Search engine for the United Nations Security Council Resolutions

Resolution 2130

International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY)


S/RES/2130 (2013)
Security Council
Distr.: General
18 December 2013
13-62532 (E)
Resolution 2130 (2013)
Adopted by the Security Council at its 7088thmeeting, on
18 December 2013
The Security Council,
Reaffirming its determination to combat impunity for those responsible for
serious international crimes and the necessity of all persons indicted by the ICTY
being brought to justice,
Taking note of the letter to the President of the Council from the Secretary-
General dated 21 November 2013 (S/2013/685) attaching letters from the President
of the International Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (“the International Tribunal”)
dated 30 October 2013 and 19 November 2013,
Recalling its resolution 827 (1993) of 25 May 1993, 1503 (2003) of 28 August
2003 and 1534 (2004) of 26 March 2004, and its previous resolutions concerning the
International Tribunal,
Welcoming the commencement of the functioning of the branch of the
Mechanism for the International Tribunal for former Yugoslavia on 1 July 2013 and
taking note of the assessment of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal
Tribunals (S/2013/679),
Recalling also its previous resolutions on the extension of the terms of office
of the permanent and ad litem judges at the International Tribunal, who are members
of the Trial Chambers and the Appeals Chamber,
Taking into account the assessments by the International Tribunal in its
Completion Strategy Report (S/2013/678), and the updated trial and appeals
Acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations,
1. Requests the ICTY to take all possible measures to complete its work as
expeditiously as possible with the aim to facilitate the closure of the Tribunal,
taking into account resolution 1966 (2010) which requested the International
Tribunal to complete its trial and appeals proceedings by 31 December 2014, and
expresses concern that, in order to complete the work of the ICTY, trials and appeals
will go beyond 2014;
S/RES/2130 (2013)
2/2 13-62532
2. Decides to extend the term of office of the following permanent and ad
litem judges at the International Tribunal, who are members of the Trial Chambers
and the Appeals Chamber, until 31 December 2014 or until the completion of the
cases to which they are assigned, if sooner:
− Koffi Kumelio A. Afande (Togo)
− Carmel Agius (Malta)
− Liu Daqun (China)
− Theodor Meron (United States of America)
− Fausto Pocar (Italy)
− Patrick Robinson (Jamaica)
− Jean-Claude Antonetti (France)
− O-Gon Kwon (Republic of Korea)
− Burton Hall (The Bahamas)
− Howard Morrison (United Kingdom)
− Guy Delvoie (Belgium)
− Christoph Flügge (Germany)
− Alphons Orie (The Netherlands)
− Bakone Justice Moloto (South Africa)
− Melville Baird (Trinidad and Tobago)
− Flavia Lattanzi (Italy)
− Antoine Kesia-Mbe Mindua (Democratic Republic of Congo)
3. Underlines that States should cooperate fully with the International
Tribunal, including through the provision of information to assist the Tribunal in its
work, as well as with the Mechanism;
4. Decides to remain seized of the matter.

ICT Yugoslavia
International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY)
Related with resolutions
827 1503 1534 1966
Security Council Composition